A Trip In Time

Yesterday we were without power for just over 24 hours. Now, obviously that isn’t a great amount of time… still, we forget how much we take something as simple as electricity for granted. Also, the ways in which it affects our lives – for better and for worse.

It was stormy outside, and the high winds must have brought down a power line somewhere. Being here in the countryside, I highly doubt we are top priority. I’m surprised they remembered us at all! Damned government! 

Still, I think it was a sobering reminder of current times. We are all so intertwined within the modern day – the lives we live online, and the endless amount of things it enables us to do. So much so, that we become locked in our ways of social media and instant, on-demand entertainment, that we forget about the things this world supresses, the things that often mean more than what replaces them. Things this world makes us forget.

The fire was roaring. Roasted veg were cooking in the Solid Fuel Range we luckily have, and a warm cup of tea was between my legs. All while I read the words of H.P. Lovecraft in the candlelight, straining my eyes to see his beautiful poetic words. I imagined him writing them under similiar conditions. Slaving away at his typewriter, endlessely relaying all the thoughts that entered his head onto the page. Taking comfort in them. And then myself being able to take the same comfort and excitement in them almost a hundred years later.

It makes you think… Sure, electricity, it allows me to write this. It allows me to read other blogs. It allows me to have access to information that would otherwise be lost on me. And yet, I feel slight pangs of sadness that I can’t live in the past. In a world with minimal electricity. Living a much simpler life – blissfully unaware of pretty much everything, if you like. Maybe this is ignorant, maybe it is even arogant, selfish to want something different to the luxury that I am thankful to have. And yet, I yearn for things to be simpler. To wake up and not have to think about the world ten miles beyond myself, to not know it even exists in any meaningful sense. To farm, pick potatoes, and cook them late at night. To sleep when it gets dark, and to wake when it becomes light.

I’m living something of a lie, I know that. It is that feeling when a part of you just doesn’t fit.

As silly as this sounds, sometimes I find myself looking towards an apocalypse… well, maybe it even sounds macarbe, or sick. I don’t pretend to know exactly why I feel like this, nor why I can rationally justify it in any sane way. It’s one of this things that just is. Maybe I’ve watched too many episodes of The Walking Dead, or maybe I want something to actually happen in my life. Though I know in reality, if it were to happen, I might not fare so well. I like to think better than some, (I’m a country person, I know basic survival things,) but within a month, I’d probably be dead…

Anyway… don’t forget the simple things in life. Take away all the modern-day for a second, and just enjoy and feel the moment as it is. Just be human, removed from everything else but its pure, natural state. Meditate. Leave the Facebook and Twitter feeds alone for a while! Trust me!

-Chris ❤

3 thoughts on “A Trip In Time

Leave a Reply

