My Love For Mortal Engines!

A week or two ago, I heard that Mortal Engines is being adapted to film by Peter Jackson’s prodigy Christian Rivers. I’ve heard things like this in the past ever since Jackson bought the film rights, numerous times over the last few years, and ultimately it had always come to nothing.

Though, this time it appears to actually be happening!

Yay! My inner child is partying so hard, well, I suppose my adult self is too.

The Mortal Engines quartet (Philip Reeve) is my all time favourite set of books – nothing comes close. Alright, sure… Murakami’s books aren’t far away, though, they’re still not there. This, it is a deep down love, cultivated in the mind of my ten-year old self when I discovered any world could exist in words. And the one entombed within Mortal Engines was exactly the place I’d been looking for. Exactly the kind of place that allowed me to see beyond my bed, my house and its walls.

I must have read the books through at least four times.

I don’t know why I was so captivated by these books when most others have had little to no impact on me. Even all those I read at that age exist within blurry memory, or not at all. Mortal Engines is something different. Maybe it was the characters, dear Tom and Hester, and later Wren. Maybe it was the world, Batmunkh Gompa and the traction cities, or maybe it was the enigmatic airship, the Jenny Haniver. All of it coming together in one irresistible package, as if it had specifically been crafted for my mind alone.

Ah, you probably have no clue what I’m talking about, do you? xx

Anyway, if you hadn’t guessed it by now, you should really read these books. Seriously, do it, or I’ll be mad!

Maybe I will write something more on this at some point. It’s near to my heart, and to my own writing. It deserves something with greater coherency, greater dedication.

-Chris ❀

4 thoughts on “My Love For Mortal Engines!

  1. I found and read–pretty much by accident–a copy of *Predator’s Gold* when I was in middle school, and some of my own middle-schoolers were reading the series during my teaching practicum a few years ago. Even though most people overlook those books, we all had a lot of fun with them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love those books even though I found the as an adult. The concept of cities traveling around consuming what they find and fighting with each other is quite fantastic but, for me it was the Jenny what an amazing airship Cheers Teesha

    Liked by 1 person

    • The concept is marvelous! I sometimes wonder what it would be like to discover them now – whether they would still fill me with such a sense of amazement. Ooh, the Jenny! One of my favourite parts is when they steal it back from Pennyroyal’s museum in Brighton to escape. That always got me. πŸ™‚ Thank you for stopping by! ❀

      Like

Leave a Reply

