A Year In Books – 2016

These are the books I have read in 2016. They’re in no particular order. I do suppose this is entirely inane topic, and very borning to read, though, I guess it serves a tiny purpose, being that I want to read more in 2017, much more!

My goal for 2016 was 40 books – I only managed 23. So, in the year coming, I want to make it my mission to hit 40! Maybe even more. Here they are:

 

  • The Long Earth – Terry Pratchett/Stephen Baxter
  • The Long War- Terry Pratchett/Stephen Baxter
  • The Long Mars – Terry Pratchett/Stephen Baxter
  • The Long Utopia – Terry Pratchett/Stephen Baxter
  • Across the Universe – Beth Revis
  • A Million Suns – Beth Revis
  • Shades of Earth – Beth Revis
  • Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone – JK Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – JK Rowling
  • Wind/Pinball – Haruki Murakami
  • The Elephant Vanishes – Haruki Murakami
  • These Broken Stars – Amie Kaufman/Meagan Spooner
  • All the Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr
  • The Handmaiden’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
  • Foundation – Isaac Asimov
  • The Man in the High Castle – Philip K. Dick
  • Farenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury
  • Mosquitoland – David Arnold
  • The Alchemist – Paulo Cohelo
  • Into the Wild – Jon Krakauer
  • Truths, Half Truths and Little White Lies – Nick Frost
  • The Ocean at the End of The Lane – Neil Gaiman
  • The Windup Girl – Paolo Bacigalupi

 

If you’ve read any, by all means comment and tell me what you think of them. And I always like a good recommendation too!

-Chris ❀

25 thoughts on “A Year In Books – 2016

  1. I, too, failed miserably at my reading goal for this year (I blame it on starting grad school). The only books I’ve read from this list are the Harry Potter ones, Fahrenheit 451, and I’m currently reading All the Light We Cannot See.

    I recommend A Man Called Ove for fiction and The Happiness Advantage for nonfiction (it’s a really quick read and sooo interesting).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very interesting! πŸ™‚ I like it that you set goals in matters of reading novels. ❀
    I've read some Murakami; and long ago I read The Handmaiden’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. It was immensely fascinating, like everything she has written, in my opinion. I am trying to think which novels I would recommend you , too..but my mind is in a shambles.. there are so many great writers and novels. Will get back to you if I think of anything I imagine will be of interest to you. Enjoy the books awaiting you. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Sometimes I find I can get distracted quickly, and then a year has passed. πŸ™‚ A somewhat loose goal helps a little. Haha, thank you! πŸ™‚ I was a little disapointed that I didn’t get enthralled by the Handmaiden’s Tale like you said you did, but it was still a great book! πŸ™‚ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sorry, I did not see this reply before. πŸ™‚ Yes, I know what you mean. I sometimes have novels on my agenda which I simply can’t get through.. As I have gotten older, I have become more mild towards myself in this respect. When I was very young, like you are now, I demanded of myself to read a lot of classics and very intellectual books, which I thought one had to read to be a person of substance. Some of them I am happy to have read, like all the novels by Fjodor Dostojevskij. They have enriched me vastly (and I can reccomend them…You could start with Crime&Punishment).. Others , I could have done without. Nowadays, I only read what I feel like reading. I’ve forund that life is too short to spend on books which do not appeal to me, regardless of their intellectual value in the world. πŸ˜€ Admittedly, though, there are some I am happy I did not give up on , even though they were so very hard to keep focused on . One novel, I had put down so many times, untill I finally overcame the hurdle of it ( I guess I had to overcome the first 80 pages or so, before the novel grabbed me) – and then it turned out to become one of my favourite novels ever! (‘Blackwater’ by Kerstin Ekman).
        ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      • I understand that. There is a certain stimga around non ‘literary’ work. As though it has less merit, and should therefore be less respected. When in the end, literature is all about enjoyment. You read what you like and love, simple. πŸ™‚ I’ve had a Dostoyevsky book sitting under my bed for a couple of years now (can’t remember which) I just couldn’t face it. I bought it at a time when I felt compelled to read the ‘classics’ – I only read a couple, the rest are still there! πŸ˜€ I suppose my semi-pretentious 16 year old mind couldn’t handle it. Though, I should get to it around about now. I have a Murakami quote for you (probably my favourite novelist) β€œIf you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.” Thanks for the awesome comment and recommendations, it’s appreciated. πŸ™‚ ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aw.. Thanks, too, for the wondrous replies..and I love that quote!! It is ‘simple’ yet deeply wise. ❀ πŸ™‚ { Here's hoping, after all, that you will some day feel like reading Dostojevskij..because I think you will like his works}. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read a few on your list. Fahrenheit 451 and The Handmaid’s Tale I read long ago, but they made a huge impact on my worldview. (That’s what good literature is all about, right?) I recently listened to All the Light You Cannot See on audiobook. It ranks among my favorites now. I picked up Into the Wild when my son was about Chris McCandless’ age and had to put it down. I read it later and found it incredibly sad.

    How did you like Asimov? Did you have any favorites from your list, anything that left you pondering life?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Farenheit 451 was great, it really made me think in many ways. And I found All the Light We Cannot See to be incredibly endearing and beautiful. And you’re right, while eye opening, Into the Wild is very sad. (The film adaptation is great, and a little brighter, if you haven’t seen it!) I found Asimov a little… empty, if that’s the correct word. I like to get inside of a characters head, and their situation, and I couldn’t seem to do that. I suppose my favourite would be The Ocean at the End of The Lane – there was just something so magical about it, something that made me think about all the things we know, and all the things we don’t. Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. One of my goals for 2017 is to read more…and actually keep up with what I read. No recommendations here yet. I’m working on organizing my plan since I have so many languishing on my Kindle, just waiting for my attention.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You read some great books!! The handmaidens tale!! LOVE! 😍 FAHRENHEIT 451 OOO WEE that one makes you think doesn’t it?! All the Light is on my list!! I have heard it is aaaaamazing but I’m sooo intimidated by its length!! 😳 I started but I just need to suck it up Hahaha!!

    I also had a goal for this year!!! Mine was 50 and I actually surpassed it and surprised myself!! I really didn’t think I could do it! Some though we’re audio books I listened to in the car to and from work or while commuting. That helped a lot!! I’d you’re in the US you can digital download a BUNCH of good ones for free from the library!

    I have TONS of recommendations! Out of what you read, which one did you really like?

    Liked by 1 person

    • 50! That’s awsome. Maybe mine should be 50… hmm, now that would be a goal, twice as many as this year. I think it’s doable. I’m in the UK. πŸ™‚ I had Audible for a little while, but it’s a little too expensive ffor me. So, I’m back with good old paper. All the Light is great, and once you get into it you wish it was even longer! I particularly liked The Ocean at the End of The Lane, there was just something so wonderous about it! πŸ˜€ Thank you for the awesome comment! xx ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I fell short, too. But came close. (30/36).

    On your list I’ve read a couple.

    Handmaids tale scares the EVERLOVING shit out of me.

    All the Light… I can’t figure out what all the love is. It was OK, but just not remarkable.

    You appear to like a lot that I do (based more on your picture than the list), so I’d recommend Binti

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Loved Asimov’s Foundation, and Bradbury’s 451. Who would not like a book about the rise and fall of humankind, or memorizing books as the only way to transmit knowledge? I think Homer would have liked Bradbury. Once upon a time there was no paper and no pens or pencils. Krakauer’s Into the Wild will leave you depressed. As for the rest, I need to check them out. Always looking for a good book.:)
    You are what you read…

    Like

Leave a Reply

