On Dreams

Since I was a very young child – as young as I can remember – I have always had very… vivid dreams. Of course, they are different now than they were back then.

I used to have the most horrendous night terrors. I can’t remember too many details – but from what my mum says – I would scream, cry, speak incoherent words, my eyes fully dilated, covered in sweat. One thing I do remember is lunging out of bed, looking out of the window to see a bull charging down the adjacent field, heading straight towards me. Of course, I wasn’t truly awake, though I was standing and my eyes were open. My mum said it scared the living daylights out of her. I can hardly blame her.

As I got older, the night terrors, and nightmares in general dwindled. In no time at all, the night terrors vanished completely, and well… everyone has a nightmare now and then.

It is not the nightmares that concern me, for they rarely come, and if anything they are an annoyance at worst. It is all the other dreams, the magical, the thoughtful, the wonderful, the feeling, the dreams that when awake leave me with such a sense of wonderment and beauty. These are what I sleep for. These are what make my living, conscious days bearable.

It is a hard sensation to explain, but I will try. A few nights ago, I had the most wonderful dream. Sure, it was strange, weird – I suppose as most dreams are. And yet, it was utterly beautiful. Not in what I saw, and nor it what was contained within the world I’d created, but what I felt – the unattainable warmness, the clarity it left with me. It amazes me how this affects my waking life in such a profound manner. In a manner that I could not even… dream of. I felt love, closeness, contentment in a way I never have in reality. And maybe that is a sad realisation once you inspect it… but I like to see it as a reminder of times to come. Of a mechanism to preserve my daylight sanity.

For Christmas I received a book on lucid dreaming, something I have been interested on for a very long while now, something I’ve also been apprehensive of, after reading accounts and stories. Though, I will give it my best shot. I cannot imagine the feeling, the heart-stopping glee that would come from being able to direct a dream. Nightmares…pfft, you don’t scare me!

So… here’s to dreaming. And here’s to all the dreams that remain to amaze!

-Chris ❀

19 thoughts on “On Dreams

  1. I know how you feel with having amazingly vivid dreams. I do too. As for nightmares, I tend to get bursts of them on and off. I used to have them much more frequently but, in the recent years, they haven’t been as bad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Really weird reading someone say their night time dreams make life worth living, as they mean barely anything to me, just a little pleasure now and again. You must have either have a really shit life, or AMAZING dreams. I hope for the latter for your sake ahah!

    I don’t dream a lot, but when I do it’s, nearly, always nice. I’ve had about 3 nightmares in my life.

    I also have a lot lucid dreams. It is super cool. I find myself always saying “stay asleep, stay asleep!” My best dreams are when it’s a sexual and lucid one. This has only happened twice (ish), but BOY are they fun! πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! Maybe I somehow find meaning and intrigue where others do not. Or… the dreams give me something I haven’t yet found in life. πŸ˜€ Either way, I’m thankful! I can bet they are the best dreams! Damn, I’m jealous of those who are able to go lucid without any effort. πŸ˜€ Thank you for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I don’t know if I have vivid dreams, but I definitely remember my dreams in vivid detail, hah! Like you, I used to have really bad nightmares as a child, but I also grew out of it. Nowadays, my dreams are mostly just wacky and only sometimes scary. Most of all, they are all over the place, pulling me from one scenario to the next, seemingly with no existing pattern. First, I’m in a forest washing clothes in a river with a talking dragon, and then I’m in a futuristic city, driving a car, killing people left and right. Weird stuffs. But, weird or not, dreams are always a great resource for inspiration!
    Thanks for sharing with us! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Completely amazing, all the feels dreams can give us. I’ve woken up many times still lingering in those moments, then try desperately to hold onto them as I gain further consciousness! Um, unless the dream gave me bad feelings… 😜

    I never seem to remember to try and control my dreams, even though I’m pretty much always lucid. It’s a struggle, haha. But just imagine what you’ll be able to do during those lucid nightmares! I’m a wimp as I’m curious enough to stick around to see what’s going to happen, then as soon as I see something scary I’m like NOPE and wake myself up. πŸ˜‚Doesn’t matter if I know it isn’t real, why would I choose to watch a nightmare play out!? Maybe someday I’ll have a reason to.

    Wishing you luck as you practice perfecting lucid dreaming. Thanks for sharing your lovely thoughts!

    Your Fellow Dreamer,
    Kirsten

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey! πŸ˜€ That’s awesome that you can lucid dream like that – I’m envious! Dreams really are an awesome thing, the things that happen, that I feel, it’s completely exhilarhating and a little scary at the same time – but then, what brilliant things aren’t? Thank you for coming by, and the beautiful comment too! πŸ˜€ All the best on your dreaming journey! πŸ™‚ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

