Hillside, on the South Banks

**I’m not dead!**

 

Dreaming of light that once flowed so smooth,

And with such determined vigour;

Of trees, and the tree-spirits that reside within.

All across the Lands of the New World,

Where we, feeble and weak, drink from streams;

Rust coloured, tainted by their shifting conversations.

 

Whilst foxes roam the valley, and the birds the hills,

We wonder, because wondering is our hope.

In grievance of what falls so swiftly to the ground-

Resenting, often living inside hate,

Of course, what else?

Blue skies, and blue water, and blue minds…

Insistence on belonging, just in the right time.

 

Brushed by the sun – caressed by warm winds,

Carried to faraway lands on the clouds that soundlessely swim-

Some days – beds of white.

Some days – suffocating black straight-jackets,

Unsure, not knowing the where, and the when.

And yet, in the moment, grass is still.

 

Our huts, warmed to the stones beneath.

Some days we manage laughs,

Some days we hold, and we drink, and we sing.

And in those times,

When Winter’s Philharmonic rings-

Living here in the hills, where the sun sees –

No matter our wild, wild dreams –

Isn’t so bad as one might first think.

10 thoughts on “Hillside, on the South Banks

  1. So I have to say… during treatment I absolutely hated poetry group, however, if they had used your poetry I’d have loved it!!! I understand it, or at least can understand it as it speaks to me. I could definitely journal based on your words. Thank you for this. I was frustrated and finally accepted that I simply couldn’t read poetry anymore, figuring that part of my brain was never restored. Now I know it was the poems that they chose, not my brain. Thank you for sharing your beautiful poems with us!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s my absolute pleasure. πŸ™‚ It’s massively heart-warming to know that what I write can have an impact on you like that. I really hope you’re doing well. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for your beautiful comment, I hugely appreciate it! With love, Chris. πŸ™‚ ❀ ❀

      Like

Leave a Reply

